First 3d animation development

We were first introduced to Maya roughly 14 weeks ago, and we were to develop an animation short.
I wanted my short to somewhat convey a story

Using the required room scene provided by our teacher, I did a paintover of my initial concept that helped as a guide for me

We provided 3 shots “of the best angle” of our scene, I tried to use mine sort of as a storyboard. I was quite happy with some of my composition work here using things like the red feather banner and colour to help display a stronger focal point.

After developing the scene we started on the characters that we needed to animate in them

I initially wanted to animate a scene between a girl and her ghost mother, given that we had 3 other subjects that were desperately vying for my attention I decided having just the ghost mother would be more realistic for my amount of time. Again I played around with the shaping of the characters.

Modelling:

And finally the storyboard was created

You can find the animated short here

About msjennytan

Sydney illustrator who does everything from wedding caricatures to concept design. With much heart : )

Leave a Reply

